Model assessment · Solo Stove

Solo Stove Pi Prime Backyard Chef Bundle review

Current bundle of the outdoor propane Pi Prime pizza oven and separate Steelfire 22-inch griddle. Promotional wood-fired wording conflicts with the exact listed gas oven; the griddle does not change oven capability.

Sources checked 2026-10-27 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Solo Stove Pi Prime propane oven paired with a separate Steelfire griddle
Image source and model notes
Manufacturer package image shows the Pi Prime oven and separate Steelfire griddle; photo/render status is not established. Solo Stove
A useful fit for

A household that expects to use both a compact outdoor propane pizza oven and a separate griddle, and has room to plan each as its own appliance.

The main tradeoff

The bundle adds storage, station-space and fuel planning needs. The exact page does not confirm shared supply, simultaneous operation, combined weight, or use of the griddle as an oven stand.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does this bundle contain an outdoor propane Pi Prime oven?

Yes. The exact page lists the Pi Prime Propane oven together with a separate Steelfire 22 griddle.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can a wood-fuel requirement be satisfied by the bundle’s promotional “wood-fired” wording?

No. The exact listed Pi Prime component is propane; no wood operating plan is supported for this package.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the bundle include a peel and turner pair?

Not in its exact package list. The Essential Bundle has that documented tool pair; this bundle instead adds a griddle.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the two appliances share a cylinder or be used at once?

Unknown. Exact package/support material does not establish a common supply or simultaneous-operation arrangement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can this full two-appliance station pass a strict weight or clearance ceiling?

Unknown. Separate product weights do not establish combined setup weight, and exact clearances were not established.

Explore this need in the finder →

Solo Stove · Value / Backyard Chef Bundle · SKU SS22+PIZZA-OVEN-PRIME

Solo Stove Pi Prime Backyard Chef Bundle review

A propane Pi Prime paired with a separate Steelfire 22-inch griddle. The value is a second outdoor cooking surface, not a different pizza oven or evidence that the two appliances share fuel or run at once.

Solo Stove Pi Prime propane pizza oven paired with a separate Steelfire griddle
Image source and model notes
Manufacturer package image shows two separate appliances: the Pi Prime oven and Steelfire griddle. Image rendering method is not stated.

The Backyard Chef bundle is a multi-appliance purchase, not a special Pi Prime oven model. The exact U.S. product page identifies the package SKU SS22+PIZZA-OVEN-PRIME and lists a Pi Prime propane pizza oven with the separate Steelfire 22-inch stainless griddle. That distinction should shape the decision: if your plan is only to bake pizza, the standard Pi Prime Propane costs less complexity in equipment and storage. This package makes more sense if the griddle’s extra cooking surface is part of the same outdoor meal plan.

What the second appliance adds

The Steelfire griddle is listed at 24.3 inches long, 22.4 inches deep and 8.6 inches high, with a 38.7-pound published weight and 321.7 square inches of cooking area. Those figures describe the griddle, not the oven or a combined station. The package’s image shows the oven and griddle as distinct units. Do not add their published weights and call the result the assembled weight of a usable station; the page does not provide a combined layout, table loading requirement or clearance envelope.

The griddle's support information specifies a one-pound disposable propane cylinder with its included regulator and a separately sold conversion kit for a 20-pound cylinder. The oven itself is the Pi Prime propane model. That does not prove a shared tank connection, simultaneous operation, or what fittings are required if you wish to position the two appliances together. Plan them as separate pieces until the exact manuals confirm otherwise, and ensure the cooking station has the space and stable heat-safe surfaces each manufacturer requires.

Do not let bundle marketing change the oven’s fuel identity

The bundle’s promotional copy uses wood-fired language for pizza, but the product itself lists the Pi Prime Propane oven. Solo Stove’s exact product/help information describes Pi Prime as gas-only; its separate current wood-burning listing has its own SKU. For this bundle, the defensible plan is outdoor propane, not wood. If wood is your required heat source, review the separately listed wood-burning Pi oven and its unresolved generation/attachment boundary instead.

The Pi Prime component retains its published 20.5-inch body diameter, 15.5-inch height and 30-pound listed oven weight. Its 13-by-3.5-inch mouth does not specify maximum pizza diameter. The official material has inconsistent top-temperature claims and does not establish an exact setpoint range. Do not assume the griddle bundle changes the oven’s bake capacity, temperature monitoring or controls; it adds another appliance. If the requirement is a precise pizza size, clearance, total assembled weight or temperature range, those questions remain open for this exact package.

Who gets value from the bundle?

Choose this package when a griddle will be used regularly for food alongside pizza and you have room for two separate appliances. It might help a household that wants a mixed menu without buying each component at a different time. The tradeoff is that the buyer must plan fuel, storage, workspace, cleanup and safety for both appliances rather than one. The page does not claim that the griddle is a pizza-oven stand, oven shelf, heat shield or accessory support. It should not be used as one unless its instructions explicitly allow it.

In questionnaire terms, the bundle is an outdoor propane-oven configuration and does not require another grill as an oven host. The separate griddle is not a reason to mark peel-and-turner tools as included; only the Essential Bundle lists that tool pair. The oven’s exact maximum pizza diameter, assembled station weight, safe clearance and temperature display are not documented by the bundle page. An indoor-only need must fail, and a wood-only essential condition must fail, even though one promotional phrase says “wood-fired.” A buyer requiring both pizza and griddle function can use the package list as a reason to consider it, but a pizza-only filter should favor the simpler Pi Prime package.

This is a source-based assessment, not a use report or comparative test. The exact Backyard Chef Bundle page identifies the two components; the Pi Prime product page supplies the oven identity. The griddle's cylinder and conversion-kit guidance should be verified in the Steelfire instructions before fuel planning.

Key details at a glance

Published standard-oven weight30 lb
Temperature hub supplied with ovenNo
Food probes supplied with oven0

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find a setup for your pizza night.

Choose your fuel, pizza diameter and serving layout, then add turning and monitoring requirements.