Model assessment · Solo Stove

Solo Stove Pi Prime Wood Burning Pizza Oven review

Current U.S. wood-burning Pi listing with a distinct SKU, 13-mm stone and stainless body. Naming lineage differs in the dimensions section and gas attachment capability is not established for this exact model.

Sources checked 2026-10-27 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Solo Stove wood-burning Pi oven with a wood flame visible inside
Image source and model notes
Manufacturer image of the distinct wood-burning Pi configuration; exact current listing title/SKU retained and naming lineage is described in the review. Solo Stove
A useful fit for

A buyer intentionally seeking a current wood-burning outdoor Pi configuration and willing to manage solid fuel while treating exact size, setup and attachment questions as unresolved.

The main tradeoff

The product title and SKU identify a current wood model, but a help-center page distinguishes the original Pi Dual Fuel from gas-only Pi Prime. Do not assume this SKU accepts an attachment.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the exact current listing support a wood-burning outdoor setup?

Yes. Its U.S. title and SKU name the wood-burning Pi configuration.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact current wood SKU document a propane attachment?

No. Help material describes an attachment for original Pi Dual Fuel and Pi Prime as gas-only; it does not bridge that attachment to PIZZA-OVEN-12.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does its 20.5-inch body prove that 12-inch pies fit?

No. The listing does not state maximum pizza diameter.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I use it indoors or match it to an exact clearance requirement?

No indoor use is listed; an exact U.S. clearance remains unverified.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can a 31-pound setup limit be verified from its published 30.5-pound product weight?

No. Product weight is not full assembled-station weight.

Explore this need in the finder →

Solo Stove · Pi Prime Wood Burning Pizza Oven · SKU PIZZA-OVEN-12

Solo Stove Pi Prime Wood Burning Pizza Oven review

A separate wood-fuel listing in Solo Stove’s current Pi family. Its exact SKU has a real identity bridge, but name lineage and a possible gas attachment remain unresolved; treat it as wood-only for matching.

Solo Stove wood-burning Pi pizza oven with an active wood flame visible through the front window
Image source and model notes
Manufacturer image of the distinct wood-burning Pi configuration. The exact U.S. listing title and SKU are used; photography-versus-render method is not stated.

This is not the propane Pi Prime page with a different finish. Solo Stove’s current U.S. listing has a separate “Pi Prime Wood Burning Pizza Oven” title and SKU PIZZA-OVEN-12. The product page gives a 20.5-inch body diameter, 15.125-inch height, 30.5-pound listed weight, a 13-millimeter stone and a stainless body. The dimensions section calls the item “Pi Pizza Oven,” so the title, SKU and support history do not line up perfectly. The SKU-specific listing is enough to distinguish this product from the propane oven; it is not enough to resolve every generation or attachment question.

Keep fuel identity conservative

Solo Stove’s Help Center distinguishes the original Pi Dual Fuel oven, which uses wood and can accept a separately sold gas burner attachment, from Pi Prime, which it describes as gas-only. That support note does not establish that the current wood-burning SKU PIZZA-OVEN-12 accepts a gas attachment. The exact product page presents a wood-burning version; for shopping and safety decisions, this review treats the verified operating plan as wood outdoors and does not promise a propane mode. Do not buy an attachment on the assumption that the original Pi Dual Fuel instructions apply to this SKU.

Wood heat gives this configuration a different rhythm from the knob-controlled propane Pi Prime. It requires solid fuel and active fire management rather than a propane cylinder and burner control. Solo Stove advertises a high heat capability and a quick preheat, but the exact product page’s claims are not an independent test or a complete control range. It does not establish a per-style preset, exact stone temperature, automatic rotation, phone monitoring or a local temperature readout. The listed maximum-temperature claim is not a safe substitute for a verified target-temperature feature.

Small body, unknown pie maximum and installation envelope

The published dimensions make this easier to estimate for storage than a built-in oven, but the 20.5-inch exterior diameter is not the same as the baking diameter. The page does not state a maximum pizza size or prove that the opening accepts any particular pie diameter. If your essential requirement is a verified 12-inch or 14-inch pizza capacity, the match should remain unresolved until the maker provides the usable cooking size for this exact version. Similarly, the 30.5-pound listed weight is a product weight, not a complete station weight with fuel, tools or base. No exact U.S. clearance figure or assembled setup weight was established in the reviewed material.

Solo Stove describes outdoor use and a level, stable, heat-safe surface. That is not permission to place a live wood oven on a combustible table or in a covered space without checking the supplied U.S. manual. I found a Pi Prime manual retailer copy with CE and international gas-pressure classifications, not a verified manual for this wood-burning SKU. Its fuel pressures and model setup cannot be transferred here. Use the current instructions shipped with PIZZA-OVEN-12, and keep its exact setup and clearances unknown until confirmed.

Which buyer should choose wood?

This is the candidate for someone who intentionally wants a wood fire and accepts tending solid fuel. It is a poor fit for someone who needs a simple propane knob, natural gas, indoor use or a fixed repeatable temperature setting. If you want propane and a self-contained setup, compare the Pi Prime Propane; for a propane oven plus cooking tools, consider the Essential Bundle. Both are distinct current listings. None of the pages reviewed establishes identical size, clearance or temperature controls across the wood and propane models.

Questionnaire matching should remain narrow: outdoor location and wood fuel are supportable; propane-only, natural-gas, indoor, exact pizza-size, weight-ceiling and clearance-ceiling requirements are not. A wood-burning title is not enough to imply “dual fuel,” and the old Pi Dual Fuel help reference is a separate identity until the manufacturer explicitly bridges it to this SKU. This is a useful example of why a model family name should not be treated as a single universal operating plan.

This is an evidence-based assessment, not an ownership report or an oven test. The exact current U.S. wood product page provides the SKU, listed measurements and materials. The Solo Stove Help Center is used only to preserve the Pi Dual Fuel/Pi Prime support distinction, not to transfer an attachment to this oven.

Key details at a glance

Published standard-oven weight30.5 lb
Temperature hub supplied with ovenNo
Food probes supplied with oven0
Standard cordierite thickness13 mm

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find a setup for your pizza night.

Choose your fuel, pizza diameter and serving layout, then add turning and monitoring requirements.